2019 McDonald's All-American Teams Announced | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Couldn't connect with Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Thursday / October 22.
  • 2019 McDonald’s All-American Teams Announced

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog

    The McDonald’s All-American Game selections are out for the March 27 at Atlanta’s Philips Arena, and for the second straight year three players from New Jersey made the team.

    Villanova-bound Bryan Antoine and Florida-bound Scottie Lewis of the Ranney School (N.J.) were both selected, as was Kentucky commit Kahlil Whitney of Roselle (N.J.) Catholic. Antoine and Lewis are the first McDonald’s All-Americans ever out of the Ranney School, while Whitney is the third from Roselle Catholic since 2015 (Isaiah Briscoe, Naz Reid).

    All three are projected lottery picks in the 2020 NBA Draft, according to the latest ESPN.com mock draft.

    A year ago, Jersey Boys Reid (LSU), Louis King (Oregon) and Jahvon Quinerly (Villanova) were all named McDonald’s All-Americans.

    “I couldn’t be happier for Scottie and Bryan and their families,” said Team Rio and former Rutgers coach Mike Rice. “They have both dreamed about this day possibly coming true. And to do it together, when so many outside voices told them they had to separate to possible make this team, shows just how special they truly are. I couldn’t be prouder of them.”

    There are two Florida commits in Lewis and Tre Mann, two Duke commits in Wendell Moore and Vernon Carey Jr., two Arizona commits in Josh Green and Nico Mannion, two Kentucky commits in Whitney and Tyrese Maxey and two Villanova commits in Antoine and Jeremiah Robinson-Earl.

    Among the uncommitted players are Precious AchiuwaCole Anthony, Anthony Edwards, Matthew Hurt, Jaden McDaniels and Trendon Watford.

    Here are the full teams:

    Written by

    [email protected]

    Adam Zagoria is a Basketball Insider who covers basketball at all levels. A contributor to The New York Times and SportsNet New York (SNY), he is also the author of two books and is an award-winning journalist and filmmaker. His articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide. He also won an Emmy award for his work on the SNY mini-documentary on Syracuse guard Tyus Battle. A veteran Ultimate Frisbee player, he has competed in numerous National and World Championships and, perhaps more importantly, his teams won the Westchester Summer League (WSL) championships in 2011 and 2013. He lives in Manhattan with his wife and children.