Iona's Tim Cluess named All-Met Coach of the Year; Rutgers Geo Baker Rookie of the Year | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Saturday / August 13.
  • Iona’s Tim Cluess named All-Met Coach of the Year; Rutgers Geo Baker Rookie of the Year

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog
    Tim Cluess of Iona has been selected the All-Met Division I men’s college basketball Coach of the Year, it was announced Monday by the Met Basketball Writers Association.
    Geo Baker of Rutgers was named Rookie of the Year.
    Players who repeated as All-Met First Team selections were Angel Delgado of Seton Hall, the MBWA Player of the Year in 2017, and Shamorie Ponds of St. John’s, last season’s Rookie of the Year.
    Also named to the All-Met First Team: Justin Wright-Foreman, Hofstra; Desi Rodriguez, Seton Hall; Tyler Nelson, Fairfield; Joel Hernandez, LIU Brooklyn.
    The winner of the 85th Lt. Frank J. Haggerty Award as All-Met Men’s Player of the Year will be announced by the MBWA on Wednesday.
    Named to the All-Met Second Team for 2017-18: Khadeen Carrington and Myles Powell, Seton Hall; Corey Sanders, Rutgers; Rickey McGill, Iona; JoJo Cooper, Wagner; Dimencio Vaughn, Rider; Justin Simon, St. John’s.
    The Third Team: Rokas Gustys, Hofstra; Anthony Tarke, NJIT; Mike Smith, Columbia; Joseph Chartouny, Fordham; Rich Williams, Manhattan; Blake Francis, Wagner.
    The All-Met First and Second Team players, coach and rookie of the year will be honored Wednesday at the 85th NIT/MBWA Haggerty Awards dinner at the Westchester Marriott, Tarrytown, NY.
    In his eighth season at the Iona helm (182-92, .664 win pct), Cluess guided the Gaels to a third straight MAAC tournament title and third straight NCAA berth, and a fourth MAAC playoff banner and fifth NCAA appearance under his tutelage. The Gaels posted a 20-14 record this past season, defeating Fairfield in the MAAC championship game and then bowing out after drawing No. 2-seeded Duke in their NCAA opener.
    Cluess has developed Iona into 3-point shooting specialists. The Gaels averaged 9.5 3-pointers made per game this past season (No. 35 in the nation), nailed 324 treys (32nd NCAA) overall and shot 38.3% from beyond the arc (39th NCAA). Having coached at LIU Post prior to Iona, his 12-season NCAA career coaching record is 280-115 (.709 win pct). A Hofstra grad, Cluess lives with his wife, Karen, in Floral Park, NY. They have two children.
    A 6-4 freshman guard from Derry, NH, Baker averaged 10.8 points (358 total) with 85 assists, 35 steals and 19 double-digit scoring games for the Scarlet Knights. Among Big Ten freshmen, he ranked first in minutes per game, third in assists, fourth in 3-point shooting, fifth in scoring and steals, and eighth in field goal percentage.
    NEW YORK (April 23, 2018) – The 2017-18 All-Met Division I men’s college basketball teams announced Monday by the Met Basketball Writers Association.
    First Team
    Angel Delgado, Seton Hall                  6-10, Sr., C     Dominican Republic
    Joel Hernandez, LIU Brooklyn 6-3, Sr., G       Teaneck, NJ
    Tyler Nelson, Fairfield                         6-3, Jr., G        Bradford, MA
    Shamorie Ponds, St. John’s               6-1, So., G       Brooklyn, NY
    Desi Rodriguez, Seton Hall                6-6, Sr., G/F    Bronx, NY
    Justin Wright-Foreman, Hofstra         6-1, Jr., G        Queens, NY
    Second Team
    Khadeen Carrington, Seton Hall         6-4, Sr., G       Brooklyn, NY
    Myles Powell, Seton Hall                     6-2, So., G       Trenton, NJ
    Corey Sanders, Rutgers                     6-2, Jr., G        Lakeland, FL
    Rickey McGill, Iona                              6-1, Jr., G        Spring Valley, NY
    JoJo Cooper, Wagner                         6-0, Sr., G       Wilmington, DE
    Dimencio Vaughn, Rider                     6-5, Fr., G        New York, NY
    Justin Simon, St. John’s                     6-5, So., G       Temecula, CA
    Third Team
    Rokas Gustys, Hofstra                       6-9, Sr., C       Lithuania
    Anthony Tarke, NJIT                            6-6, So., G/F   Gaithersburg, MD
    Mike Smith, Columbia                         5-11, So., G     Burr Ridge, IL
    Joseph Chartouny, Fordham              6-3, Jr., G        Montreal, Quebec
    Rich Williams, Manhattan                   6-6, Sr., G       Brooklyn, NY
    Blake Francis, Wagner                       6-0, So., G       Herndon, VA
    Rookie of the Year: Geo Baker, Rutgers
    Peter A. Carlesimo Coach of the Year: Tim Cluess, Iona
    (Release via Met Basketball Writers Association)

    Written by

    [email protected]

    Adam Zagoria is a Basketball Insider who covers basketball at all levels. A contributor to The New York Times and SportsNet New York (SNY), he is also the author of two books and is an award-winning journalist and filmmaker. His articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide. He also won an Emmy award for his work on the SNY mini-documentary on Syracuse guard Tyus Battle. A veteran Ultimate Frisbee player, he has competed in numerous National and World Championships and, perhaps more importantly, his teams won the Westchester Summer League (WSL) championships in 2011 and 2013. He lives in Manhattan with his wife and children.