Duke’s Bagley takes ACC Player of the Year, Rookie honors; UVA’s Bennett is Coach of the Year | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Wednesday / June 19.
  • Duke’s Bagley takes ACC Player of the Year, Rookie honors; UVA’s Bennett is Coach of the Year

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog
    With a sweep of Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year honors, Duke’s Marvin Bagley III leads the 2017-18 season award winners and the All-ACC basketball team announced by the league on Sunday.

    Bagley, leading the ACC in both scoring and rebounding heading into the postseason, was the choice for ACC Player of the Year by 37 members of the 57-member voting panel (15 ACC head coaches, 42 selected media) that cast ballots for this year’s postseason honors. Boston College junior Jerome Robinson placed second with 14 votes.

    The ACC Rookie of the Year balloting was more clear cut, with Bagley receiving 56 of the 57 votes cast. Virginia’s De’Andre Hunter received the remaining vote.

    Bagley joins former Duke standout Jahlil Okafor (2015) as the only players in the ACC’s 65-year history to be chosen as the league’s Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year in the same season.

    Virginia’s Tony Bennett was recognized as the ACC Coach of the Year. Bennett’s Cavaliers, who won the ACC regular-season title and own the nation’s No. 1 ranking, earned two more individual honors as Virginia senior Isaiah Wilkins received the nod as the ACC Defensive Player of the Year and freshman De’Andre Hunter was tabbed as the Sixth Man of the Year.

    North Carolina junior Luke Maye was voted the ACC’s Most Improved Player.

    Bagley is joined on the All-ACC first team by Boston College’s Robinson, North Carolina’s Maye and senior Joel Berry II, and Virginia sophomore Kyle Guy.

    Highly touted as the nation’s top recruit entering the season, the 6-11, 234-pound Bagley lived up to his billing by keying the Blue Devils to a 25-6 overall record and the No. 2 seed in the upcoming New York Life ACC Tournament. The Phoenix native is tied with Boston College’s Robinson for the ACC scoring lead at 20.7 points per game and leads the conference with 11.9 rebounds per contest.

    Bagley, back in action after missing four games in February with a knee injury, leads the ACC with 19 double-doubles, 10 of which have come in conference play. Bagley, who has scored at least 30 points in a game a league-leading six times, was twice named the ACC Player of the Week and earned ACC Rookie of the Week recognition six times.

    2018 Atlantic Coast Conference Post-Season Honors


    First Team
    Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 280*
    Jerome Robinson, Boston College, 273
    Luke Maye, North Carolina, 246
    Joel Berry II, North Carolina, 223
    Kyle Guy, Virginia, 168
    Second Team
    Tyus Battle, Syracuse, 159
    Marcquise Reed, Clemson, 143
    Devon Hall, Virginia, 129
    Wendell Carter, Jr., Duke, 126
    Justin Robinson, Virginia Tech, 123
    Third Team
    Grayson Allen, Duke, 119
    Matt Farrell, Notre Dame, 89
    Ty Jerome, Virginia, 67
    Josh Okogie, Georgia Tech, 57
    Omer Yurtseven, NC State, 54
    Honorable Mention
    Deng Adel, Louisville, 51
    Ky Bowman, Boston College, 37
    Lonnie Walker, Miami (FL), 30
    Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest, 23
    Markell Johnson, NC State, 21
    Ray Spalding, Louisville, 19
    Allerik Freeman, NC State, 18
    Theo Pinson, North Carolina, 14
    Terance Mann, Florida State, 12
    Gabe DeVoe, Clemson, 12
    All-Freshman Team
    Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 57*
    Wendell Carter, Jr., Duke, 56
    Lonnie Walker, Miami, 51
    De’Andre Hunter, Virginia, 33
    Oshae Brissett, Syracuse, 33
    All-Defensive Team
    Isaiah Wilkins, Virginia, 49
    Anas Mahmoud, Louisville, 37
    Elijah Thomas, Clemson, 34
    Devon Hall, Virginia, 32
    Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech, 25
    Player of the Year
    Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 37
    Jerome Robinson, Boston College, 14
    Luke Maye, North Carolina, 5
    Devon Hall, Virginia, 1
    Rookie of the Year
    Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 56
    De’Andre Hunter, Virginia, 1
    Coach of the Year
    Tony Bennett, Virginia, 47
    Brad Brownell, Clemson, 8
    Kevin Keatts, NC State, 2
    Defensive Player of the Year
    Isaiah Wilkins, Virginia, 42
    Anas Mahmoud, Louisville, 7
    Elijah Thomas, Clemson, 3
    Devin Wilson, Virginia Tech, 2
    Jack Salt, Virginia, 1
    Rex Pflueger, Notre Dame, 1
    Wendell Carter Jr., Duke, 1
    Most Improved Player
    Luke Maye, North Carolina, 26
    Frank Howard, Syracuse, 5
    Omer Yurtseven, NC State, 5
    Martinas Geben, Notre Dame, 5
    Doral Moore, Wake Forest, 5
    Kyle Guy, Virginia, 3
    Marcquise Reed, Clemson, 3
    Phil Cofer, Florida State, 2
    Dewan Huell, Miami, 2
    Ty Jerome, Virginia, 1
    Sixth Man of the Year
    De’Andre Hunter, Virginia, 39
    Chris Clarke, Virginia Tech, 7
    Chris Lykes, Miami, 5
    Keyshawn Woods, Wake Forest, 3
    Trent Forrest, Florida State, 2
    Marques Bolden, Duke, 1
    * – Unanimous selection
    Written by

    [email protected]

    Adam Zagoria is a Basketball Insider who covers basketball at all levels. A contributor to The New York Times and SportsNet New York (SNY), he is also the author of two books and is an award-winning journalist and filmmaker. His articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide. He also won an Emmy award for his work on the SNY mini-documentary on Syracuse guard Tyus Battle. A veteran Ultimate Frisbee player, he has competed in numerous National and World Championships and, perhaps more importantly, his teams won the Westchester Summer League (WSL) championships in 2011 and 2013. He lives in Manhattan with his wife and children.