Purdue's Edey, Gonzaga's Timme and Kansas's Wilson among contenders for Wooden Award | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Wednesday / March 22.
  • Purdue’s Edey, Gonzaga’s Timme and Kansas’s Wilson among contenders for Wooden Award

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog

    Purdue center Zach Edey (21.7 ppg, 13.4 rpg, 2.2 bpg), Gonzaga forward Drew Timme (22.7 ppg, 8.3 rpg) and Kansas forward Jalen Wilson (20.6 ppg, 8.4 rpg) are among the top candidates to claim the Wooden Award.

    The trio headlined the Midseason Top 25 list announced Wednesday, while several newcomers also made the list.

    The reigning Wooden winner, Kentucky center Oscar Tshiebwe (16.8 ppg, 13.8 rpg, 1.3 bpg) was also part of the midseason top 25 list. Tshiebwe would be the second player to win the award twice after Ralph Sampson in 1982 and 1983.

    Most of the list is filled with players from the perennial powerhouse programs, but the nation’s top scorer received the honor. UAB senior guard Jordan Walker (25.2 ppg) was among the top 25.

    Four freshman made the list: Alabama’s Brandon Miller, Baylor’s Keyonte George, Kansas’ Gradey Dick and Duke’s Kyle Filipowski.

    Wilson and Dickey are part of the Kansas squad tied with the most players on the list. Baylor also had two players with George and senior Adam Flagler as well as North Carolina senior Armando Bacot and junior Caleb Love.

    The entire top 25 is listed below:

    Armando BacotNorth CarolinaACC6-11Sr.F/C
    Marcus CarrTexasBig 126-2Sr.G
    Antoine DavisDetroit MercyHorizon6-1Sr.G
    Kendric DavisMemphisAmerican6-0Sr.G
    Gradey DickKansasBig 126-8Fr.G
    Hunter Dickinson#MichiganBig Ten7-1Jr.C
    Zach EdeyPurdueBig Ten7-4Jr.C
    Kyle FilipowskiDukeACC7-0Fr.C
    Adam FlaglerBaylorBig 126-3Sr.G
    Keyonte GeorgeBaylorBig 126-4Fr.G
    Trayce Jackson-DavisIndianaBig Ten6-9Sr.F
    Jaime Jaquez Jr.UCLAPac-126-7Sr.G/F
    Caleb LoveNorth CarolinaACC6-4Jr.G
    Mike Miles Jr.TCUBig 126-2Jr.G
    Brandon MillerAlabamaSEC6-9Fr.F
    Kris MurrayIowaBig Ten6-8Jr.F
    Adama SanogoConnecticutBig East6-9Jr.F
    Marcus SasserHoustonAmerican6-2Sr.G
    Terquavion SmithN.C. StateACC6-4SophG
    Drew Timme#*GonzagaWCC6-10Sr.F
    Oscar Tshiebwe**KentuckySEC6-9Sr.F
    Azuolas TubelisArizonaPac-126-11Jr.F
    Jordan WalkerUABConference USA5-11Sr.G
    Jalen WilsonKansasBig 126-8Jr.F
    Isaiah WongMiami (FL)ACC6-4Jr.G
    Follow Rob on Twitter

    Follow Adam Zagoria on Twitter

    Follow ZAGSBLOGHoops on Instagram

    And Like ZAGS on Facebook