Gonzaga trio headlines Naismith Trophy Watch List | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Couldn't connect with Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Saturday / December 9.
  • Gonzaga trio headlines Naismith Trophy Watch List

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog
    Gonzaga’s Chet Holmgren, Andrew Nembhard and Drew Timme were named to the 2022 Men’s Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Men’s Preseason Watch List Monday.

    Holmgren was named the Gatorade National Player of the Year, Naismith Prep Player of the Year, Morgan Wootten National Player of the Year, Sports Illustrated All-American Player of the Year, MaxPreps National Player of the Year, and a McDonald’s All-American following his senior season at Minnehaha. The 7-footer averaged 21 points and 12.3 rebounds per game during his senior season while leading the Redhawks to the Class 3A state championship. He added 4.7 blocks and 4.5 assists while shooting 80 percent from the field in 2020-21. He finished his prep career with 1,567 points, 964 rebounds and 456 blocked shots.

    A Bob Cousy Award candidate, Nembhard was named the West Coast Conference Sixth Man of the Year in 2021. He topped the league, and was sixth in the nation, with a 3.59 assist-to-turnover ratio. The senior averaged 9.2 points per game and was fourth in the conference averaging 4.4 assists per outing in 2020-21. Nembhard scored in double-digits 15 times last season. He started in 13 of the final 14 games.

    Timme is a Preseason All-American First Team selection and the reigning Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year. He was named Second Team All-American by the Associated Press, NABC and USBWA in 2020-21. The Dallas, Texas, native, was also a First Team All-West Coast Conference selection, and the NCAA Tournament West Regional Most Outstanding Player. Timme was first in the conference in scoring at 19 points per game, at a league-leading 65.5 percent from the field, which was third in the country. His seven rebounds per game were also fourth in the conference. He started all 31 games for GU, scoring in double digits 30 times.

    No. 1/1 Gonzaga opens the regular season against Dixie State Tuesday.

    2022 Men’s Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Men’s Preseason Watch List

    Adam FlaglerGJr.Baylor Big 12
    Alex BarcelloGSr.BYUWCC
    Andre CurbeloGSo.IllinoisBig Ten
    Andrew JonesSr.GTexasBig 12
    Andrew NembhardSr.GGonzagaWCC
    Armando BacotJr.F/CNorth CarolinaACC
    Buddy BoeheimSr.GSyracuseACC
    Caleb HoustanFr.G/FMichiganBig Ten
    Chet HolmgrenFr.FGonzagaWCC
    Chris LykesSr.GArkansasSEC
    Collin GillespieSr.GVillanovaBIG EAST
    David McCormackSr.FKansasBig 12
    Drew TimmeJr.FGonzagaWCC
    E.J. LiddellJr.FOhio StateBig Ten
    Emoni BatesFr.FMemphisAAC
    Hunter DickinsonSo.CMichiganBig Ten
    Isaiah MobleyJr.FUSCPac-12
    Jabari SmithFr.FAuburnSEC
    Jaden IveySo.GPurdueBig Ten
    Jaden ShackelfordJr.GAlabamaSEC
    Jahvon QuinerlyJr.GAlabamaSEC
    Jaime JaquezJr.G/FUCLAPac-12
    Jalen DurenFr.CMemphisAAC
    James AkinjoSr.GBaylor Big 12
    Johnny JuzangJr.GUCLAPac-12
    Julian ChampagnieJr.G/FSt. John’sBIG EAST
    Justin MooreJr.GVillanovaBIG EAST
    Keion Brooks Jr.Jr.FKentuckySEC
    Kellan GradySr.GKentuckySEC
    Kendric DavisSr.GSMUAAC
    Kennedy ChandlerFr.GTennesseeSEC
    Kenneth Lofton Jr. Fr.FLouisiana TechUSA
    Keve AlumaR-Sr.FVirginia TechACC
    Kofi CockburnJr.CIllinoisBig Ten
    Marcus CarrSr.GTexasBig 12
    Marcus SasserJr.GHoustonAAC
    Matt BradleySr.GSan Diego St.MWC
    Matthew MayerSr.G/FBaylor Big 12
    Max AbmasJr. GOral RobertsSummit
    Ochai AgbajiSr.GKansasBig 12
    Paolo BancheroFr.FDukeACC
    Patrick BaldwinFr.GMilwaukeeHorizon
    Remy MartinSr.GKansasBig 12
    Scotty Pippen Jr.Jr.GVanderbiltSEC
    Terrence Shannon Jr.Jr.GTexas TechBig 12
    Trayce Jackson-DavisJr.FIndianaBig Ten
    Trevion WilliamsSr.FPurdueBig Ten
    Tyson EtienneSo.GWichita StateAAC
    TyTy WashingtonFr.GKentuckySEC
    Will RichardsonSr.GOregonPac-12

    Written by

    [email protected]

    Adam Zagoria is a Basketball Insider who covers basketball at all levels. A contributor to The New York Times and SportsNet New York (SNY), he is also the author of two books and is an award-winning journalist and filmmaker. His articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide. He also won an Emmy award for his work on the SNY mini-documentary on Syracuse guard Tyus Battle. A veteran Ultimate Frisbee player, he has competed in numerous National and World Championships and, perhaps more importantly, his teams won the Westchester Summer League (WSL) championships in 2011 and 2013. He lives in Manhattan with his wife and children.

  • } });