Chet Holmgren, Jabari Smith and Donovan Clingan named finalists for Gatorade National Player of the Year | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Couldn't connect with Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Monday / September 25.
  • Chet Holmgren, Jabari Smith and Donovan Clingan named finalists for Gatorade National Player of the Year

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog

    Gonzaga commit Chet Holmgren, Auburn signee Jabari Smith and uncommitted 2022 center Donovan Clingan have been named finalists for the 2021 Gatorade National Player of the Year.

    Clingan is the only junior among the three finalists.

    The national award will be announced next week.

    Clingan, 7-foot-1, 265-pound center from Bristol Central (CT), averaged 27.3 points, 17.2 rebounds, 5.8 blocks and 3.1 assists to earn the Connecticut Gatorade Player of the Year Award.

    According to, Clingan is ranked as the No. 8 center and No. 53 overall prospect in the class of 2022.

    Holmgren, a 7-foot-1, 190-pound center from Minnehaha (MN) Academy, averaged 20.8 points, 12.6 rebounds, 4.7 blocks and 4.4 assists per game, leading his team to a 20-1 record and a Class AAA state championship run.

    According to, Holmgren is ranked as the No. 1 overall prospect in the class of 2021.

    Smith, a 6-foot-10, 210-pound power forward from Sandy Creek (GA), averaged 24 points, 10 rebounds, three assists and three blocks per game, leading his team to the AAA state championship game.

    According to, Smith is ranked as the No. 2 power forward and the No. 4 overall prospect in the class of 2021.

    The full list of Gatorade State Player of the Year is provided below:

    Alabama: Barry Dunning

    Alaska: Patrick McMahon

    Arizona: Dylan Anderson

    Arkansas: Derrian Ford

    Colorado: Julian Hammond III

    Connecticut: Donovan Clingan

    Delaware: Nnanna Njoku

    District of Columbia: Quincy Allen

    Florida: Caleb Houstan

    Georgia: Jabari Smith

    Hawaii: O’Shen Cazimero

    Idaho: Brody Rowbury

    Illinois: Max Christie

    Indiana: Caleb Furst

    Iowa: Tucker DeVries

    Kansas: Kennedy Chandler

    Kentucky: Sam Vinson

    Louisiana: Carlos Stewart

    Maine: Cash McClure

    Maryland: Jordan Hawkins

    Massachusetts: Kyle Filipowski

    Michigan: Pierre Brooks II

    Minnesota: Chet Holmgren

    Mississippi: Daeshun Ruffin

    Missouri: Aminu Mohammed

    Montana: Drew Wyman

    Nebraska: Hunter Sallis

    Nevada: Jaden Hardy

    New Hampshire: Alex Karaban

    New Jersey: D.J. Wagner

    New Mexico: William “Deuce” Benjamin

    New York: Jordan Riley

    North Carolina: Terquavion Smith

    North Dakota: Joe Hurlburt

    Ohio: Chris Livingston

    Oklahoma: Trey Alexander

    Pennsylvania: Stevie Mitchell

    Rhode Island: Matt Constant

    South Carolina: Bryce McGowens

    South Dakota: Matthew Mors

    Tennessee: Brandon Miller

    Texas: Daimion Collins

    Utah: Nolan Hickman

    Vermont: Michel Ndayishimiye

    Virginia: Trevor Keels

    West Virginia: Isaac McKneely

    Wisconsin: Brandin Podziemski

    Wyoming: Sam Lecholat

    Follow Jacob Polacheck on Twitter

    Follow Adam Zagoria on Twitter

    Follow ZAGSBLOGHoops on Instagram

    And Like ZAGS on Facebook