Iowa's Luka Garza, Baylor's Jared Butler, Oklahoma State's Cade Cunningham highlight Naismith Watch List | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Couldn't connect with Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Monday / June 17.
  • Iowa’s Luka Garza, Baylor’s Jared Butler, Oklahoma State’s Cade Cunningham highlight Naismith Watch List

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog
    Iowa’s Luka Garza, Butler’s Jared Butler and Oklahoma State’s Cade Cunningham are among the 50 players on the 2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Watch List, as announced Thursday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

    The Atlanta Tipoff Club will release a midseason list of 30 top players in early February, followed by the 10 national semifinalists and four finalists on March 4 (2021) and March 16, respectively. Players who do not make the initial watch list are still eligible to be selected to the midseason team of 30 players.

    The 2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy will be awarded during the Final Four at the Naismith Awards Brunch on April 4, 2021.

    UCLA has had three student-athletes win the Naismith Trophy since the award was first created in 1969 – Lew Alcindor in 1969, Bill Walton in 1972, 1973 and 1974, and Marques Johnson in 1977.

    2021 Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List

    Name                                          School

    Joel Ayayi                                    Gonzaga

    Scottie Barnes                             Florida State

    Charles Bassey                            Western Kentucky

    B.J. Boston                                  Kentucky

    James Bouknight                          Connecticut

    Garrison Brooks                           North Carolina

    Greg Brown                                 Texas

    Jared Butler                                 Baylor

    Marcus Carr                                 Minnesota

    Terrence Clarke                           Kentucky

    Kofi Cockburn                              Illinois

    Jalen Crutcher                             Dayton

    Cade Cunningham                       Oklahoma State

    Oscar da Silva                             Stanford

    Ayo Dosunmu                              Illinois

    Marcus Garrett                             Kansas

    Luka Garza                                  Iowa

    Collin Gillespie                             Villanova

    Kellan Grady                                Davidson

    A.J. Green                                   Northern Iowa 

    Sam Hauser                                 Virginia

    Aaron Henry                                Michigan State

    Matthew Hurt                               Duke

    Trayce Jackson-Davis                  Indiana 

    Jalen Johnson                              Duke

    Keyontae Johnson                        Florida

    David Johnson                             Louisville 

    Corey Kispert                               Gonzaga 

    Isaiah Livers                                Michigan

    Caleb Love                                  North Carolina 

    Sandro Mamukelashvili                 Seton Hall

    Remy Martin                                Arizona State

    Caleb Mills                                   Houston

    Evan Mobley                                USC 

    Wendell Moore Jr.                        Duke 

    Yves Pons                                   Tennessee

    Jeremiah Robinson-Earl               Villanova

    Colbey Ross                                Pepperdine

    Fatts Russell                                Rhode Island

    Javonte Smart                              LSU

    Chris Smith                                UCLA

    Jalen Suggs                                 Gonzaga

    MaCio Teague                             Baylor

    Drew Timme                                Gonzaga

    Oscar Tshiebwe                           West Virginia

    Trendon Watford                          LSU

    Trevion Williams                           Purdue

    Ziaire Williams                              Stanford

    McKinley Wright IV                       Colorado

    Marcus Zegarowski                      Creighton

    Follow Adam Zagoria on Twitter

    Follow ZAGSBLOGHoops on Instagram

    And Like ZAGS on Facebook

    Written by

    [email protected]

    Adam Zagoria is a Basketball Insider who covers basketball at all levels. A contributor to The New York Times and SportsNet New York (SNY), he is also the author of two books and is an award-winning journalist and filmmaker. His articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide. He also won an Emmy award for his work on the SNY mini-documentary on Syracuse guard Tyus Battle. A veteran Ultimate Frisbee player, he has competed in numerous National and World Championships and, perhaps more importantly, his teams won the Westchester Summer League (WSL) championships in 2011 and 2013. He lives in Manhattan with his wife and children.

  • } });