Basketball Hall of Fame narrows watch list for 2020 Bob Cousy Award | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Couldn't connect with Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Monday / March 4.
  • Basketball Hall of Fame narrows watch list for 2020 Bob Cousy Award

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog

    Five sophomores were among 10 finalists named Monday for the 2020 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award.

    The sophomores include Baylor’s Jared Butler, Duke’s Tre Jones, Iowa State’s Tyrese Haliburton, Kansas’ Devon Dotson and Kentucky’s Ashton Hagans.

    Colorado’s McKinley Wright IV and San Diego State’s Malachi Flynn were the two juniors to make the list. The seniors include Marquette’s Markus Howard, Michigan State’s Cassius Winston and Oregon’s Payton Pritchard.

    No freshmen were named finalists.

    The award named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, now in its seventeenth year, recognizes the top point guards in Division 1 men’s college basketball. A national committee comprising top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to just 10.

    In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2020 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five.

    Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Ja Morant, Murray State (2019), Jalen Brunson, Villanova (2018), Frank Mason III, Kansas (2017), Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A&M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

    2020 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates

    Jared ButlerBaylor
    McKinley Wright IVColorado
    Tre JonesDuke
    Tyrese HaliburtonIowa State
    Devon DotsonKansas
    Ashton HagansKentucky
    Markus HowardMarquette
    Cassius WinstonMichigan State
    Payton PritchardOregon
    Malachi FlynnSan Diego St.
    *Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2019-20 season*

    Follow Jacob on Twitter

    Follow Adam Zagoria on Twitter

    And Like ZAGS on Facebook

  • } });