St. John's guard Shamorie Ponds wins Haggerty Award | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Saturday / August 13.
  • St. John’s guard Shamorie Ponds wins Haggerty Award

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog

    St. John’s sophomore guard Shamorie Ponds won the 85th Lt. Frank J. Haggerty Award as All-Met Men’s Player of the Year on Wednesday. The award will be given Wednesday evening (tonight).

    Ponds beat out Seton Hall senior big man Angel Delgado, who also repeated as an All-Met First Team selection.

    Ponds’ coach, Chris Mullin, is a three-time recipient (1983-84-85) of the Haggerty Award.
    The 6-foot-1 Ponds averaged 21.6 points. 5.0 rebounds and 4.7 assists, including a career-high 44 points in a February win over Marquette.

    “It’s big — it’s big for St. John’s, big for me,” Ponds told the New York Post. “It’s a cool accomplishment. … I’m not sure who was going to win it. I was confident with what I did, even without the team’s success. I think I had an overall solid year.”

    Ponds is testing the NBA Draft waters without an agent and told the Post he has workouts coming up with the Boston Celtics and Cleveland Cavaliers. It remains to be seen whether he will draw an invite to the NBA Draft Combine set for May 16-20 in Chicago. Combine invites go out Friday.

    “It’s a hard decision right now,” he told The Post.


    NEW YORK (April 23, 2018) – The 2017-18 All-Met Division I men’s college basketball teams announced Monday by the Met Basketball Writers Association.
    First Team
    Angel Delgado, Seton Hall                  6-10, Sr., C     Dominican Republic
    Joel Hernandez, LIU Brooklyn 6-3, Sr., G       Teaneck, NJ
    Tyler Nelson, Fairfield                         6-3, Jr., G        Bradford, MA
    Shamorie Ponds, St. John’s               6-1, So., G       Brooklyn, NY
    Desi Rodriguez, Seton Hall                6-6, Sr., G/F    Bronx, NY
    Justin Wright-Foreman, Hofstra         6-1, Jr., G        Queens, NY
    Second Team
    Khadeen Carrington, Seton Hall         6-4, Sr., G       Brooklyn, NY
    Myles Powell, Seton Hall                     6-2, So., G       Trenton, NJ
    Corey Sanders, Rutgers                     6-2, Jr., G        Lakeland, FL
    Rickey McGill, Iona                              6-1, Jr., G        Spring Valley, NY
    JoJo Cooper, Wagner                         6-0, Sr., G       Wilmington, DE
    Dimencio Vaughn, Rider                     6-5, Fr., G        New York, NY
    Justin Simon, St. John’s                     6-5, So., G       Temecula, CA
    Third Team
    Rokas Gustys, Hofstra                       6-9, Sr., C       Lithuania
    Anthony Tarke, NJIT                            6-6, So., G/F   Gaithersburg, MD
    Mike Smith, Columbia                         5-11, So., G     Burr Ridge, IL
    Joseph Chartouny, Fordham              6-3, Jr., G        Montreal, Quebec
    Rich Williams, Manhattan                   6-6, Sr., G       Brooklyn, NY
    Blake Francis, Wagner                       6-0, So., G       Herndon, VA
    Rookie of the Year: Geo Baker, Rutgers
    Peter A. Carlesimo Coach of the Year: Tim Cluess, Iona
    (Release via Met Basketball Writers Association)

    Written by

    [email protected]

    Adam Zagoria is a Basketball Insider who covers basketball at all levels. A contributor to The New York Times and SportsNet New York (SNY), he is also the author of two books and is an award-winning journalist and filmmaker. His articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide. He also won an Emmy award for his work on the SNY mini-documentary on Syracuse guard Tyus Battle. A veteran Ultimate Frisbee player, he has competed in numerous National and World Championships and, perhaps more importantly, his teams won the Westchester Summer League (WSL) championships in 2011 and 2013. He lives in Manhattan with his wife and children.