Mike Krzyzewski, Tom Konchalski headline 2023 National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame class | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Couldn't connect with Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Wednesday / February 28.
  • Mike Krzyzewski, Tom Konchalski headline 2023 National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame class

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog

    Legendary Duke head coach Mike Krzyzewski will headline a class of five people inducted into the 2023 National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame class.

    The other inductees to the 2023 Hall of Fame class include the late New York City scout Tom Konchalski, former Thomas Jefferson University head coach Herb Magee, former Duke guard Johnny Dawkins and former UNC forward Tyler Hansbrough.

    The class of 2023 induction celebration will take place in Chicago on Aug. 30. It will be the 18th National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame induction class.

    Krzyzewski, the headliner of the class, is widely recognized as one of the greatest coaches in NCAA history. He leaves behind a remarkable legacy spanning more than four decades that includes an NCAA-record 1,202 victories.

    Under Krzyzewski’s leadership, Duke clinched five national championships, made 13 trips to the Final Four, secured 15 ACC Tournaments and laid claim to 14 ACC regular-season titles. His teams spent 127 weeks at the top of the AP poll, boasted 36 NCAA Tournament bids and 101 total March Madness victories.

    Konchalski is well know in the collegiate basketball world for his scouting. He dedicated 43 years to evaluating high school prospects and established himself as one of the most trusted figures in the sport. Konchalski’s acclaimed publication, the High School Basketball Insider, emerged as a resource for coaches seeking in-depth scouting reports and prospect rankings.

    Konchalski also operated the prestigious Five-Star Basketball Camp, which served as a springboard for numerous talents, including the likes of Michael Jordan, LeBron James, Kevin Durant, and Stephen Curry. After battling cancer, Konchalski passed away in 2021.

    Magee is one of the most distinguished basketball coaching figures of all-time. He dedicated his 54-year coaching career exclusively to Jefferson and accumulated 1,144 victories. That is a record in DII history and the second-highest (behind Krzyzewski) across all NCAA divisions. Magee is famously known as “The Shot Doctor,” for helping players with their jumper.

    As a player, Magee tallied 2,235 career points and set a school record (at then Philadelphia-Textile) by averaging 29.1 points per game during the 1961-62 season. Although he was picked by the Boston Celtics in the 1963 NBA Draft, Magee elected to start his coaching career at his alma mater.

    Magee’s leadership as a coach resulted in 13 conference championships and 24-consecutive winning seasons from 1997 through his retirement in 2022. Magee’s honors through his career include the NABC Division II Coach of the Year award in 1976, the NABC Guardians of the Game Award for Education in 2005 and the NABC Hillyard Golden Anniversary Award in 2020.

    Dawkins enters the hall as one of Duke’s most distinguished players. During his tenure from 1982-86, Dawkins amassed an impressive 2,556 points, a record that remained unbroken until JJ Redick passed him 2006. He still holds second place all-time.

    At Duke, Dawkins was a two-time consensus All-American, a four-time All-ACC selection, and the 1986 Naismith National Player of the Year. In his senior year, Dawkins was instrumental in leading Duke to both the ACC regular season and tournament championships, as well as an appearance in the national championship game.

    Dawkins was selected 10th overall by the Spurs in the 1986 NBA Draft. After a nine-year NBA career — in which Dawkins averaged 11.1 points — he transitioned into coaching. Dawkins first started his coaching career at Stanford, and he is currently the head coach at UCF.

    Hansbrough — who played for North Carolina under Roy Williams from 2005-2009 — is another distinguished collegiate player. He received All-America First Team honors all four years as a Tar Heel, including earning the consensus National Player of the Year award in 2008.

    Hansbrough has the unique distinction of being the only player in ACC history to be selected for the All-ACC First Team four times. He tallied an impressive 2,872 career points over his career, which still stands as the highest in both ACC and Carolina history. Hansbrough ranks 16th overall in NCAA Division I scoring history. The forward was also instrumental in propelling the Tar Heels to the Final Four in 2008 and national title in 2009.

    Follow Sam Lance on Twitter

    Follow Adam Zagoria on Twitter

    Follow ZAGSBLOGHoops on Instagram

    And Like ZAGS on Facebook

  • } });