Big 12 leads the way with 7 selected to Naismith Player of the Year Midseason Team | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Couldn't connect with Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Sunday / June 23.
  • Big 12 leads the way with 7 selected to Naismith Player of the Year Midseason Team

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog

    The Naismith Player of the Year Midseason Team was announced on Thursday featuring 28 of the nation’s best players.

    The Big 12 led the way with seven players selected to the team, including two pairs of teammates: Kansas State’s Keyontae Johnson and Markquis Nowell and Baylor’s backcourt duo Adam Flagler and Keyonte George

    Johnson and Nowell were also the only duo recently named to the Wooden Watch.

    Texas’ Marcus Carr, TCU’s Mike Miles Jr., and Kansas’ Jalen Wilson rounded out the Big 12 selections.

    Alabama’s Brandon Miller and Duke’s Kyle Filipowski were the only freshman named to the list.

    The team also included Oral Roberts’s Max Abmas, North Carolina’s Armando Bacot, Xavier’s Souley Boum, Memphis Kendric Davis, Detroit Mercy’s Antoine Davis, Michigan’s Hunter Dickinson, Purdue’s Zach Edey, Providence’s Bryce Hopkins, Indiana’s Trayce Jackson-Davis, UCLA’s Jaime Jaquez Jr., Creighton’s Ryan Kalkbrenner, Marquette’s Tyler Kolek, Iowa’s Kris Murray, Penn State’s Jalen Pickett, UConn’s Adama Sanogo, Houston’s Marcus Sasser, N.C. State’s Terquavion Smith, Gonzaga’s Drew Timme, Kentucky’s Oscar Tshiebwe, Arizona’s Azuolas Tubelis, and Miami’s Isaiah Wong.

    Follow Charlie on Twitter

    Follow Adam Zagoria on Twitter

    Follow ZAGSBLOGHoops on Instagram

    And Like ZAGS on Facebook

  • } });