NBA announces participants for Rising Stars Game | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Couldn't connect with Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Sunday / December 3.
  • NBA announces participants for Rising Stars Game

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog

    The NBA announced Tuesday the 28 players who have earned spots to compete in the 2023 Jordan Rising Stars, which will take place on Friday, Feb. 17 at Vivint Arena in Salt Lake City as part of NBA All-Star 2023.  The annual showcase of premier young talent, featuring a mini-tournament with four teams and three games, will air live at 9 p.m. ET/7 p.m. MT on TNT.

    The player pool consists of 11 NBA rookies, 10 second-year NBA players and seven NBA G League players.  The 21 NBA players, selected by NBA assistant coaches, will be drafted onto three seven-player teams.  The seven NBA G League players, selected by the league office, will comprise the fourth team.

    Four NBA legends will serve as honorary head coaches for Jordan Rising Stars: six-time NBA All-Star and two-time NBA champion Pau Gasol; two-time NBA All-Star and 2013-14 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Joakim Noah; 2008-09 Kia NBA Sixth Man of the Year and 2011 NBA champion Jason Terry; and three-time NBA All-Star and former Utah Jazz standout Deron Williams.

    Below is the player pool for Jordan Rising Stars:

    NBA Rookies: Paulo Banchero (Orlando Magic), Jalen Duren (Detroit Pistons), AJ Griffin (Atlanta Hawks), Jaden Ivey (Detroit Pistons), Benedict Mathurin (Indiana Pacers), Walker Kessler (Utah Jazz), Keegan Murray (Sacramento Kings), Jabari Smith Jr. (Houston Rockets), Andrew Nembhard (Indiana Pacers), Jeremy Sochan (San Antonio Spurs), Jalen Williams (Oklahoma City Thunder)

    NBA Sophomores: Jose Alvarado (New Orleans Pelicans), Scottie Barnes (Toronto Raptors), Josh Giddey (Oklahoma City Thunder), Jalen Green (Houston Rockets), Quentin Grimes (New York Knicks), Bones Hyland (Denver Nuggets), Evan Mobley (Cleveland Cavaliers), Trey Murphy II (New Orleans Pelicans), Alperen Sengün (Houston Rockets), Franz Wagner (Orlando Magic)

    NBA G-League Players: Sidy Cissoko (G-League Ignite), Scoot Henderson (G-League Ignite), Mojave King (G-League Ignite), Kenneth Lofton Jr. (Memphis Hustle/Memphis Grizzlies), Mac McClung (Delaware Blue Coats), Leonard Miller (G-League Ignite), Scotty Pippen Jr. (South Bay Lakers/Los Angeles Lakers)

    Follow Charlie on Twitter

    Follow Adam Zagoria on Twitter

    Follow ZAGSBLOGHoops on Instagram

    And Like ZAGS on Facebook

    Written by

    [email protected]

    Adam Zagoria is a Basketball Insider who covers basketball at all levels. A contributor to The New York Times and SportsNet New York (SNY), he is also the author of two books and is an award-winning journalist and filmmaker. His articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide. He also won an Emmy award for his work on the SNY mini-documentary on Syracuse guard Tyus Battle. A veteran Ultimate Frisbee player, he has competed in numerous National and World Championships and, perhaps more importantly, his teams won the Westchester Summer League (WSL) championships in 2011 and 2013. He lives in Manhattan with his wife and children.

  • } });