Duke's Zion Williamson, Virginia's Tony Bennett highlight 2019 All-ACC honors | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Monday / May 20.
  • Duke’s Zion Williamson, Virginia’s Tony Bennett highlight 2019 All-ACC honors

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog

    Duke freshman forward Zion Williamson was named both the 2019 ACC Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year on Monday, becoming just the third player in ACC history to sweep the league’s Player and Rookie of the Year honors.

    Williamson joins former Duke standouts Marvin Bagley III (2018) and Jahlil Okafor (2015) as the only players in the ACC’s 66-year history to sweep the conference’s top individual awards in the same season.

    Williamson received 49 of 70 ACC Player of the Year votes cast by a selection panel consisting of the league’s 15 head coaches and 55 members of the media.  Fellow Duke freshman RJ Barrett received 16 votes, while Virginia sophomore De’Andre Hunter received four votes, and Boston College junior Ky Bowman received one vote.

    Despite being sidelined since February 20 with a right knee sprain and missing the final six games of the regular season, Williamson finished third among ACC players in total points scored. He finished second in the ACC with 21.6 points per game and stands third in rebounding at 8.8 per game.

    Williamson also led the conference with a .683 field goal percentage, which was also good for the second best field goal percentage in the NCAA.

    Virginia head coach Tony Bennett was named the ACC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year after leading the Cavaliers to a 28-2 record (16-2 conference) and a No. 1 seed in the upcoming ACC Tournament.

    The ACC Coach of the Year honor is the Bennett’s fourth since he took the helm at Virginia prior to 2009-10 season. He was also recognized in 2014 and 2015.

    The full list of recipients are provided below:

    All-ACC First Team

    Zion Williamson, Duke

    RJ Barrett, Duke

    De’Andre Hunter, Virginia

    Cameron Johnson, North Carolina

    Kyle Guy, Virginia


    Second Team

    Luke Maye, North Carolina

    Ky Bowman, Boston College

    Ty Jerome, Virginia

    Coby White, North Carolina

    Kerry Blackshear Jr., Virginia Tech


    Third Team

    Jordan Nwora, Louisville

    Marcquise Reed, Clemson

    Tyus Battle, Syracuse

    Nickeil Alexander-Walker, Virginia Tech

    John Mooney, Notre Dame


    Honorable Mention

    Mifondu Kabengele, Florida State

    Cam Reddish, Duke

    Tre Jones, Duke

    Terrance Mann, Florida State

    Elijah Thomas, Clemson


    ACC Player of the Year

    Zion Williamson, Duke


    ACC Freshman of the Year

    Zion Williamson, Duke


    ACC Coach of the Year

    Tony Bennett, Virginia


    ACC Defensive Player of the Year

    De’Andre Hunter, Virginia


    ACC Most Improved Player

    Jordan Nwora, Louisville


    ACC Sixth Man of the Year

    Mifondu Kabengele, Florida State


    ACC All-Defensive Team

    De’Andre Hunter, Virginia

    Tre Jones, Fr., Duke

    Zion Williamson, Fr., Duke

    Elijah Thomas, Sr., Clemson

    James Banks III, Jr., Georgia Tech


    ACC All-Freshman Team

    Zion Williamson, Duke

    Coby White, North Carolina

    RJ Barrett, Duke

    Xavier Johnson, Pitt

    Tre Jones, Duke

    Follow Jacob on Twitter

    Follow Adam Zagoria on Twitter

    And Like ZAGS on Facebook