Oscar Robertson Trophy Finalists Named | Zagsblog
Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Couldn't connect with Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Friday / September 22.
  • Oscar Robertson Trophy Finalists Named

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog
    Fifteen finalists were named for the 2014 Oscar Robertson National Player of the Year Trophy, as announced Thursday by the U.S. Basketball Writers’ Association (USBWA).


    Pos.      No.      Player, School                                       Ht.      Wt.     Yr.     Hometown

    G/F           5      Kyle Anderson, UCLA                             6-9     230    So.     Fairview, N.J.

    F             41      Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico               6-9     250     Sr.     Brisbane, Australia

    F             11      Cleanthony Early, Wichita State               6-8     219     Sr.     Middletown, N.Y.

    F              3      Melvin Ejim, Iowa State                           6-6     220     Sr.     Toronto, Ont.

    G            11      Tyler Ennis, Syracuse                              6-2     180     Fr.     Brampton, Ont.

    F              5      C.J. Fair, Syracuse                                 6-8     215     Sr.     Baltimore, Md.

    G            13      Nick Johnson, Arizona                            6-3     200     Jr.     Gilbert, Ariz.

    G            23      Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati                       6-4     210     Sr.     Yonkers, N.Y.

    F              3      Doug McDermott, Creighton                    6-8     225     Sr.     Ames, Iowa

    G            13      Shabazz Napier, Connecticut                   6-1     180     Sr.     Roxbury, Mass.

    F              1      Jabari Parker, Duke                                6-8     235     Fr.     Chicago, Ill.

    F             24      Casey Prather, Florida                             6-6     212     Sr.     Jackson, Tenn.

    F             30      Julius Randle, Kentucky                          6-9     250     Fr.     Dallas, Texas

    G              2      Russ Smith, Louisville                             6-0     165     Sr.     Brooklyn, N.Y.

    G            22      Andrew Wiggins, Kansas                         6-8     200     Fr.     Vaughan, Ont.


    Written by

    [email protected]

    Adam Zagoria is a Basketball Insider who covers basketball at all levels. A contributor to The New York Times and SportsNet New York (SNY), he is also the author of two books and is an award-winning journalist and filmmaker. His articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide. He also won an Emmy award for his work on the SNY mini-documentary on Syracuse guard Tyus Battle. A veteran Ultimate Frisbee player, he has competed in numerous National and World Championships and, perhaps more importantly, his teams won the Westchester Summer League (WSL) championships in 2011 and 2013. He lives in Manhattan with his wife and children.