Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Saturday / February 23.
  • Jenkins Wins 3rd Straight Haggerty Award

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog
    Charles Jenkins of Hofstra won the 78th Haggerty Award as the 2010-11 All-Met Division I men’s college basketball player of the year.

    Jenkins, a senior guard from Queens, N.Y., won for the third consecutive season, becoming only the third player in the history of the award to win it three times. The others were Jim McMillian of Columbia (1968-69-70) and Chris Mullin of St. John’s (1983-84-85).

    Jim Ferry of Long Island University — who interviewed for and was offered the Manhattan job — won the Peter A. Carlesimo coach of the year award.

    Jason Brickman of LIU was named rookie of the year.

    Joining Jenkins on the All-Met first team: Dwight Hardy, St. John’s; Mike Glover and Scott Machado, Iona; Jeremy Hazell, Seton Hall; and Julian Boyd, LIU.

    Named to the second team: Jonathan Mitchell, Rutgers; Justin Brownlee, St. John’s; D.J. Kennedy, St. John’s; Derek Needham, Fairfield; and Chris Gaston, Fordham.

    Named to the third team: Wesley Jenkins, St. Peter’s; Noruwa Agho, Columbia; Jamal Olasewere, LIU; Justin Robinson, Rider; Tyler Murray, Wagner; George Beamon, Manhattan.

    Jenkins led the Pride and was sixth in the nation with 22.6 points per game. He had 158 assists (2nd CAA), 57 steals and shot 51.7 percent from the floor, 42.0 percent from 3-point range and 82.4 percent at the foul line. He was the Colonial Athletic Association player of the year for the second consecutive season and had his number 22 jersey retired by Hofstra.

    Jenkins finished his career with a school record 2,513 points in 128 games (19.6 ppg) and wound up second in CAA career scoring behind David Robinson of Navy.

    Jenkins is the fifth player from Hofstra to win the award. Previous Pride players to win include Bill Thieben (1956), Rich Laurel (1977), Speedy Claxton (2000) and Norm Richardson (2001).

    In his ninth season at the helm, Ferry guided the Blackbirds to a 27-6 record (improving from 14-17 in 2009-10), their first Northeast Conference (16-2) regular season title since 1997-78 and first NEC tournament championship since 1976-77. LIU, which was fourth nationally in scoring with 82.7 points per game, captured an NCAA tournament berth for the fourth time in school history and the first time since 1997.

    The 27 wins for LIU were the most for the team since a 28-3 mark in 1936-37.

    Also named NEC coach of the year, Ferry was previously named All-Met Division II coach of the year while at Adelphi in 2000, 2001 and 2002.

    Written by

    [email protected]

    Adam Zagoria is a Basketball Insider who covers basketball at all levels. A contributor to The New York Times and SportsNet New York (SNY), he is also the author of two books and is an award-winning journalist and filmmaker. His articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide. He also won an Emmy award for his work on the SNY mini-documentary on Syracuse guard Tyus Battle. A veteran Ultimate Frisbee player, he has competed in numerous National and World Championships and, perhaps more importantly, his teams won the Westchester Summer League (WSL) championships in 2011 and 2013. He lives in Manhattan with his wife and children.