Recent Posts
About ZagsBlog
Adam Zagoria covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide.
Follow Zags on Twitter
Contact Zags
Connect with Zags:
Saturday / June 23.
  • Cousy Award for Nation’s Top Point Guard Trimmed to Five Finalists

    Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog
    And then there were five.

    The 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award was narrowed down to five finalists on Monday: Nigel Williams-Goss of Gonzaga, Frank Mason of Kansas, Joel Berry of UNC, Lonzo Ball of UCLA, and Jalen Brunson of Villanova.

    Those who did not make the cut from the list of ten finalists announced back in January are Monte Morris (Iowa State), De’Aaron Fox (Kentucky), Melo Trimble (Maryland), Dennis Smith Jr. (NC State), and Markelle Fultz (Washington).

    The winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards on April 7.

    Previous winners include Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016); Delon Wright, Utah (2015); Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014); Trey Burke, Michigan (2013); Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012); Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011); Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010); Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009); DJ Augustin, Texas (2008); Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007); Dee Brown, Illinois (2006); Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005); and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

    Photo: @UCLAMBB

    Follow Mike on Twitter

    Follow Adam Zagoria on Twitter

    And like ZAGS on Facebook