Recent Posts
Connect with Zags:
Wednesday / February 22.

Knicks Novak & White Added to All-Star Festivities

Share Zagsblog Share Zagsblog
And then there were four.

Four Knicks are in the All-Star festivities in Houston now that James White has been added to the Slam Dunk contest and Steve Novak will fire away in the 3-Point Contest.

“A lot of people haven’t seen James,” Carmelo Anthony, who will play for the East in the Feb. 17 All-Star Game with teammate Tyson Chandler, told “He’s the best-kept secret.”

The 6-foot-7 White will compete in the Dunk Contest against Jeremy Evans of Utah, Eric Bledsoe of the Clippers, Kenneth Faried of Denver, Gerald Green of Indiana and Terrence Ross of Toronto.

“I saw James when I was probably like 10, 11 years old,” Kevin Durant told “That was the first time I saw him play, in D.C. He was just flying. He jumped from the free throw line, dunked between the legs before anybody I’ve seen do it. He was like the most athletic guy ever. Hopefully he gets in the dunk contest.”

White said Vince Carter is his favorite dunker of all-time but he has no specific dunks in mind. There won’t be any jumping over cars.

“Nah, I won’t be doing none of that stuff,” he said recently.

Novak, who is third in the NBA in 3-point shooting at 44.4 percent, will join fellow sharpshooters Kyrie Irving of Cleveland and Paul George of Indiana — both first-time All-Stars — as well as Ryan Anderson of New Orleans, Matt Bonner of San Antonio and Stephen Curry of Golden State.

“I would love to, I would love to, so obviously we’re still hoping that that happens,” Novak said before it was announced.


1984—Larry Nance, Phoenix

1985Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta

1986—Spud Webb, Atlanta

1987—Michael Jordan, Chicago

1988—Michael Jordan, Chicago

1989—Kenny Walker, New York

1990—Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta

1991—Dee Brown, Boston

1992—Cedric Ceballos, Phoenix

1993—Harold Miner, Miami

1994—Isaiah Rider, Minnesota

1995—Harold Miner, Miami

1996—Brent Barry, L.A. Clippers

1997—Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers

2000—Vince Carter, Toronto

2001—Desmond Mason, Seattle

2002—Jason Richardson, Golden State

2003—Jason Richardson, Golden State

2004—Fred Jones, Indiana

2005—Josh Smith, Atlanta

2006—Nate Robinson, New York

2007—Gerald Green, Boston

2008—Dwight Howard, Orlando

2009—Nate Robinson, New York

2010—Nate Robinson, New York

2011—Blake Griffin, L.A. Clippers

2012—Jeremy Evans, Utah Jazz




1986 – Larry Bird, Boston

1987 – Larry Bird, Boston

1988 – Larry Bird, Boston

1989 – Dale Ellis, Seattle

1990 – Craig Hodges, Chicago

1991 – Craig Hodges, Chicago

1992 – Craig Hodges, Chicago

1993 – Mark Price, Cleveland

1994 – Mark Price, Cleveland

1995 – Glen Rice, Miami

1996 – Tim Legler, Washington

1997 – Steve Kerr, Chicago

1998 – Jeff Hornacek, Utah

2000 – Jeff Hornacek, Utah

2001 – Ray Allen, Milwaukee

2002 – Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento

2003 – Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento

2004 – Voshon Lenard, Denver

2005 – Quentin Richardson, Phoenix

2006 – Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas

2007 – Jason Kapono, Miami

2008 – Jason Kapono, Toronto

2009 – Daequan Cook, Miami

2010 – Paul Pierce, Boston

2011 – James Jones, Miami

2012 – Kevin Love, Minnesota

(Photo: Getty Images)
Facebook Comments
Written by

[email protected]

Adam Zagoria is a New York Times contributor and Basketball Insider who covers basketball at all levels. He is the author of two books and is an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in ESPN The Magazine, SLAM, Sheridan Hoops, Sports Illustrated, Basketball Times and in newspapers nationwide. A veteran Ultimate Frisbee player, he has competed in numerous National and World Championships and, perhaps more importantly, his teams won the Westchester Summer League (WSL) championships in 2011 and 2013. He lives in Manhattan with his wife and children.